About

Hi, I’m Bee!  (Not my real name – my parents wouldn’t really name me after a poisonous flying insect.)  I wear lots of different hats:

  • mother of a 13-year-old daughter
  • mother of a 10-year-old son
  • classical musician
  • proofreader and editor
  • numbers geek, word geek, sci-fi/fantasy geek, and probably a few other varieties of geek
  • unintentional expert on parenting a child with Asperger’s Syndrome

I’m in transition in a few areas of life, and I’m more OK with that on some days than others.  I’m in the process of putting a house on the market that is the only home my children remember living in, with the hopes of moving somewhere smaller.  I’m still getting adjusted to being single, after many years of being married.  My musical career is in a state of transition as well, and I hope that in the next couple of years I will be able to settle into a more stable university position with less dependence on free-lance work.

And finally, I am in the very gradual process of moving from a childhood tradition of traditional Baptist Christianity to something else that I haven’t quite pinned down yet – which is fine, since faith ought to be a journey, not an arrival.  After twenty years at the same Baptist church, I am making the transition to a much smaller Quaker congregation (part of the Northwest Yearly Meeting of Friends).  Along with attending services when I can, I have been doing quite a lot of reading about the historical and modern Quaker tradition, and this will be reflected in the blog as well as more everyday thoughts.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s